Tomorrow is Thanksgiving, which means that the Christmas season is about to officially start. As always, I’ll turn to my old DVD stand-bys: Christmas In Connecticut, Meet Me In St. Louis, A Christmas Story, I’ll Be Seeing You, and so on. But I’m really excited because this year one of my favorite Christmas movies, which I’ve only had on VHS until now, is being released on DVD.

TCM has been diligently airing Remember the Night every Christmas season for the past few years now, helping classic film fans rediscover this sweet and romantic holiday gem. Starring Fred MacMurray and Barbara Stanwyck, it’s the unlikely love story between a petty thief and the DA trying to put her away. Stanwyck and MacMurray are mostly known together for their work in Double Indemnity, but this is a completely different kind of film.

Remember the Night is coming to DVD as part of TCM’s new Universal On Demand service, which is a lot like the really awesome but kind of needlessly expensive On Demand service Warner Bros. started earlier this year. Universal is taking it up a notch, though, with remastered material and special features. Their DVDs, even with the features, also appear to be cheaper than Warner Bros. Other titles released include Murders In the Zoo and The Mad Doctor of Market Street, both available on the 5-Disc Cult Horror Collection.

So definitely head over the TCM.com to pick this one up. Sadly, my money is so tightly budgeted for the next month for my trip to Chicago that I’m just going to have to be happy with my VHS copy for another year.

